The New Brunswick Fire Department recently gained a special piece of memorabilia to add to the collection of its forthcoming Fire Museum.
This past April, an original New Brunswick Call Box was donated to the fire department, a gift from the family of late Deputy Chief John E. Krueger, who served with the New Brunswick Fire Department for 29 years, from December 1952 to December 1981.
Long before the age of portable phones, Call Boxes were posted around town to serve as a direct line to summon the fire department in the event of a fire. They were removed from New Brunswick streets. The Krueger family wished to share one in their possession to be showcased in the New Brunswick Fire Department Museum.
The new fire museum will showcase the history of the New Brunswick Fire Department through artifacts and information. It is currently under construction and is anticipated to open by the end of this year.