UPDATED: Fall Hydrant Flushing Program Underway

Fall hydrant flushing will begin on September 24 and run through October 19 in the City of New Brunswick, an annual process that is performed as part of regular maintenance of our City water distribution system.

Why Do We Flush?

Citywide hydrant flushing programs are conducted twice a year to remove iron deposits that build up in water mains, a necessary step to maintain water quality and flow. During the process, hydrants are opened in a way that directs pressurized water through mains and out onto the street to flush out the deposits.
The discoloration sometimes seen in water during the flushing process is due to iron deposits being dislodged from the water mains. Residents are advised to avoid using hot water or doing laundry until discoloration disappears, as iron deposits can built up in hot water heaters and possibly stain laundry.
When Will Flushing Happen?
Most City fire hydrants will be flushed between the hours of 10 p.m. and 4 a.m., but some daytime flushing will occur as well. The schedule for flushing is as follows:
Week of October 8-12
  • Monday, October 8 No flushing is scheduled for this date
  • Tuesday, October 9 (nighttime flushing) – Area between Easton Avenue and College Avenue; New York Avenue; Jefferson Avenue
  • Wednesday, October 10 – (nighttime flushing) – Jersey Avenue; How Lane; Terminal Road; Triangle Road; Home News Row; Route 27 between How Lane and Van Dyke Avenue; Van Dyke Avenue
  • Thursday, October 11 (nighttime flushing) –Raritan Gardens and Dewey Heights neighborhoods
  • Friday, October 12 – No flushing is scheduled for this date
Week of October 1-5
  • Monday, October 1 (night-time flushing) –  George Street spanning the area between Commercial Avenue and the NJ Transit railroad overpass; downtown area in the vicinity of City Hall; Neilson Street
  • Tuesday, October 2 (night-time flushing) – How Lane; Home News Row; Triangle Road; Terminal Road; Jersey Avenue between Van Dyke Avenue and How Lane
  • Wednesday, October 3 (night-time flushing) – Jersey Avenue spanning the area between Van Dyke Avenue and the downtown area; the length of French Street; portions of Jersey Avenue; streets  between Somerset Street and Jersey Avenue
  • Thursday, October 4 (night-time flushing) – Somerset Street; Hamilton Street; streets between Easton Avenue and Somerset Street
  • Friday, October 5 – No flushing is scheduled for this date
Week of September 24-27
  • Monday, September 24 (nighttime flushing) – Livingston Avenue, Joyce Kilmer Avenue, Railroad Avenue
  • Tuesday, September 25 (daytime flushing) – Lee Avenue, Remsen Avenue, Throop Avenue, Commercial Avenue
  • Wednesday, September 26 (daytime flushing) – Jones Avenue, Nichol Avenue, Pine Street, Talmadge Street, Hazlehurst Street
  • Thursday, September 27 (nighttime flushing) – Dewey Heights, Raritan Gardens, Rutgers Village
  • Thursday, September 28: No flushing is scheduled for this date

Translate »
X